climateprediction.net home page

The world's largest climate forecasting experiment for the 21st century.

Profile: GarryNearWinnipeg

Your personal background.
I'm presently 59 years old and have taken early retirement from the Royal Bank of Canada (RBC Financial Group)as of May 01, 2003 where I worked primarily in the IT division for 35 years - all in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. I live on 5 acres about 23 km (14 miles) northeast of Winnipeg with my wife of 34 years. My wife is a level 3 Paramedic working for a rural ambulance service. We have two adult children who each have a child, therefore, we have 2 adorable grandchildren, aged 4 and 2 years. My current major hobby is (during spring, summer & fall) riding my motorcycle (1965 Triumph 500cc "Speed Twin")which I restored last year. My wife and I also enjoy canoeing (flat water) on the numerous lakes and rivers/creeks in our wonderful province. We enjoy doing activities with all of our family whenever opportunities come up.
Your opinions about climateprediction.net
I am just starting to run climateprediction.net because I am interested in knowing whether or not the global climate is indeed changing and if so, is it changing because of natural causes or man-made causes or a combination of both. I'm hoping by joining the project I'll be able to contribute in my small way to finding the answer to this question. SInce I have a fairly robust PC and I only use it about 20 - 30% of an average day, I think I'll be able to contribute several cycles in a relatively short time.
I have no suggestions at this time as I "don't know what I don't know" yet but as my experience grows I expect to come up with a suggestion or two.
Your feedback on this profile
Recommend this profile for User of the Day:I like this profile
Alert administrators to an offensive profile:I do not like this profile
Account dataView
TeamNone
Message boards13 posts



Copyright © 2002-2014 climateprediction.net